Nick Tetz wins second PBR Canada Touring Pro Divison event in Calgary at Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’

Out-earning current Canadian No. 1 Cody Coverchuk, who finished third, by 20 points, No. 2 Tetz inched within 294.5 points of the top ranking.

Kacie Albert | PBR

CALGARY, Alta. – In front of a raucous Thursday night crowd in Calgary, Alberta, 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada Champion Nick Tetz (Calgary, Alberta) showed up and showed out, winning his second Touring Pro Division event in as many days, victorious at the third iteration of the annual Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’.

Just one day after winning the second performance of the five-part event at Grey Eagle Resort and Casino, Tetz, who rides for the Arizona Ridge Riders in the separate PBR Teams league, looked to continue his momentum on Hanna Motors Broken Halo (Skori Bucking Bulls).

Riding in unstoppable form again, Tetz easily reached the whistle, awarded an unrivaled 87 points to cement his third Touring Pro Division victory of the season.

Tetz earned a crucial 38 points for the golden finish as he attempts to become the fourth multi-time PBR Canada Champion in history this November. He now trails No. 1 Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan) by 294.5 points.

Coverchuk, however, delivered a podium finish of his own, concluding the event third to earn 18 national points. The Saskatchewan man rode Alberta Springs (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.) for 83 points.

Should Coverchuk remain atop the standings when the 2024 PBR Canada National Finals conclude inside Rogers Place in nearby Edmonton, he would tie Aaron Roy (Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan) for most national titles won by one rider in history with three.

Roy, who is on the hunt for his unprecedented fourth Canadian Championship, was bucked off Thursday night, tossed by Hammer Time (Skori Bucking Bulls) in 2.4 seconds. The veteran is now ranked No. 14 in Canada.

The Austin Gamblers’ Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland, Australia) was second.

The affable Australian earned 28 national points for his 86.5-point ride on Times A Tickin (Thompson Rodeo Livestock).

Miller rose one position in the Canadian national standings, climbing from No. 11 to No. 10 as he attempts to become the first Australian to win the PBR Canada Championship this season.

Via the out, Times A Tickin was crowned Bull of the Event, tying for the top honor for the event’s bovine athletes by delivering a 43-point score.

The powerful animal athlete was matched by Relatively Famous (Thompson Rodeo Livestock) and Nobody (Eno Bucking Bulls), who earned the points for besting Chad Hartman (Lancer, Saskatchewan) in 2.29 seconds, and Tim Lipsett (Lumsden, Saskatchewan) in 1.72 seconds, respectively.

Rounding out the Top 5 and tying for fourth were Chanse Switzer (Hazenmore, Saskatchewan), Cauy Schmidt (Coronation, Alberta), and Andrew Alvidrez (Seminole, Texas), each delivering 82.5-point rides to earn 13.33 national points.

Switzer topped Patiently Waiting (Skori Bucking Bulls), while 2022 PBR Canada Rookie of the Year Schmidt bested Brimstone (Skori Bucking Bulls), and the Missouri Thunder’s Alvidrez conquered Colt .45 (Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp.).

In the Canadian standings, Switzer remained No. 9, rising within 670.67 points of the top spot, Schmidt climbed from No. 30 to No. 26, and Alvidrez went from unranked to No. 38.

PBR Canada Touring Pro Division
Cody Snyder Charity Bullbustin’ #3
Grey Eagle Resort and Casino – Calgary, Alberta
Event Leaders (Round 1- Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Nick Tetz, 87-87.00-38 Points.
2. Callum Miller, 86.5-86.50-28 Points.
3. Cody Coverchuk, 83-83.00-18 Points.
4. Chanse Switzer, 82.5-82.50-13.33 Points.
(tie). Cauy Schmidt, 82.5-82.50-13.33 Points.
(tie). Andrew Alvidrez, 82.5-82.50-13.33 Points.
7. Cody Fraser, 81.5-81.50-11 Points.
8. Ashton Sahli, 81-81.00-10 Points.
9. Donnie Rutherfurd, 80.5-80.50-9 Points.
Weston Davidson, 0-0.00
Tyler Craig, 0-0.00
Jared Parsonage, 0-0.00
Garrett Green, 0-0.00
Dakota Buttar, 0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0.00
Coy Robbins, 0-0.00
Wyatt Gleeson, 0-0.00
Dixon Tattrie, 0-0.00
Chad Hartman, 0-0.00
Dusty Golden, 0-0.00
William Barrows, 0-0.00
Wyatt Rogers, 0-0.00
Griffin Koester, 0-0.00
Carter Sahli, 0-0.00
Tim Lipsett, 0-0.00
Tanner Skene, 0-0.00
Edgardo Figueroa, 0-0.00
Elijah Gordon, 0-0.00
Brahmer Gaehring, 0-0.00

Recommended Articles